The IABC was officially formed in September of 1993. The membership consists of medical doctors, biologists, biophysicists, engineers, educators and business professionals. IABC members are involved in the development of electrotherapeutic, thermotherapeutic and magnetotherapeutic techniques, in combination with conventional therapies, for the treatment of a wide variety of health problems including cancer, diseases of the visual system, connective tissue disease and neurological disorders. Approximately 300 members are actively engaged in related research and clinical studies in a wide variety of locations including Australia, Brazil, China, Denmark, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Japan, Korea and the U.S.

In 1987, Dr. Björn Nordenström introduced BCEC and Elecro-Chemical Treatment of Cancer (EChT) to the Chinese medical profession. Since that time, considerable progress has been made. Numerous EChT courses and training sessions have been conducted for Chinese medical practitioners. Clincial studies and research have provided new insight and improvements into the EChT protocol and therapeutic techniques that are complementary with EChT. EChT has been widely publicized in the mass media of China. More than 12 EChT centers and research laboratories have been established. The first BCEC Symposium was held in Stockholm in September of 1993. Dr. Björn Nordenström and Dr. Xin, Yu-Ling presented their initial results at that Symposium.

During the October 1992 Symposium in China, the International Association for Biologically Closed Electric Circuits in Medicine and Biology (IABC) was formed. Dr. Nordenström was elected IABC President and Dr. Xin, Yu-Ling was elected IABC Vice President.

In October, 1997, the Fourth International Symposium on Biologically Closed Electric Circuits was held in Minneapolis, U.S.A. A 295 page Proceedings was printed for this Symposium.

In July of 1998, Dr. O’Clock was appointed IABC President, Dr.Nordenström became IABC President Emeritus and Carl Firley was appointed IABC Vice President and Secretary General.

In September of 1998, the Third Congress of the IABC and Second International Symposium on Electrochemical Treatment of Cancer was held in Beijing, China.

In 1999, the Third Congress on Electro Cancer Treatment and the Fourth Congress on Biologically Closed Electric Circuits was hosted by Dr. Friederich Douwes, M.D., Klinik St Georg in Bad Aibling, Germany.

In July, 2001, the Seventh International Symposium on Biologically Closed Electric Circuits was held in Helsingør, Denmark.

In September, 2004, the 8th International Congress on the Biologically Closed Electric Circuits was held in Nanning, China.

November, 2006; IABC Congress on BCEC held in Sao Paulo, Brazil

November, 2008; IABC Congress on BCEC held in Stuart, Florida, USA

During these two IABC meetings, an IABC Board of Directors was established, consisting of the following IABC members:


President: Carl F. Firley, (USA)
Founder and President Emeritus: Björn E.W. Nordenström, M.D., Ph.D. (Sweden)
President Emeritus: George D. O’Clock, Ph.D. (U.S.)
Vice President for Europe: Jörgen Nordenström, M.D. (Sweden)
Vice President for Asia: Xin, Yu Ling, M.D. (China)
Vice President and Secretary General: Carl F. Firley, B.S. (U.S.)


Paulo L. Farber, M.D.

Andrew Mouldon, M.D., Ph.D.

Xin Yu-Ling, M.D., Li Jing-Hong, M.D. Liu, Gan Zhong, M.D., Pang, Hong Bin, M.D., Tang, Bu Jian Wei, Zhang, M.D., Ye, Yu Kun, M.D.

Luis Bergues Cabrales, M.D.

Finn Scøtt Andersen, M.D.

Photios Anninos, Ph.D., Nikolaos Tsagas, Ph.D.

Andras Szasz, Ph.D.

Katsuki Ito, M.D.

Omar Fakhri, Ph.D.

IABC Founder; Professor Bjorn E. W. Nordenstrom, deceased.

Membership of the International Association for Biologically Closed Electric Circuits In Medicine And Biology (IABC) may be applied to Mr Carl Firely, 4976 S. W. Bimini Circle S, Palm Beach, Florida 34990 U.S.A. Fax No (772) 283-2180, bcec@comcast.net.
Fax No. (772) 283 9942
Phone: (772) 283 2180

In 2001, Dr. Björn E.W. Nordenström received the International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award from the People’s Republic of China. Inaugurated in 1994 by the State Council, the International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award is granted to foreigners or foreign organizations that have made important contributions to China’s scientific and technological advancement. Dr. Nordenström is the first Swedish scientist to receive this award.